Geography Regional Geological Setting Structure Stratigraphy
Oil and Gas Peat and Coal Other Minerals References

satellite image Brunei DarussalamGeography

Geographical Overview

Brunei Darussalam is located on the northwest coast of Borneo, near the equator, between approximately 114o 4' - 115o 22' eastern longitude and 4o2'-5o 3' northern latitude. The country is bounded along the southern and eastern sides by the Malaysian state of Sarawak. Sarawak has an enclave along the Limbang river that splits Brunei Darussalam into two separate parts (Figure 1.2).

The coastline is facing the South China Sea from near the mouth of the Baram river in the southwest to the headland of Muara in the northeast. To the east of Muara is Brunei Bay, a large and protected, shallow embayment. Brunei Darussalam consists of four districts: 1) the large Belait district in the southwest, 2) the Tutong district in the middle, 3) the Brunei Muara district that surrounds the capital, Bandar Seri Begawan, and 4) the separate Temburong district in the east (Figure 1.2).

'A bit of history'

To Main Page